#LondonAdventure – Grill on the Market – Farringdon

My life had been seriously lacking in meat, for lack of a better euphemism of late, so when Blackhouse – Grill on the Market, a steak restaurant in Smithfields popped onto my radar, I was more than happy to flout meat free Monday.

Just a stone’s throw from Farringdon station, dressed head to toe in black in my most summery attire, I waited for my late date and luckily, bumped into one of my favourite couples, Charlotte from The London Blog, and the charmingly sarcastic, Russ. By the time two of their delicious Humpry Spritzes had disappeared (it was happy hour ok!?) my date arrived and I could let Charlotte get on with her date night in peace.

After some flirtatious glances and some sincere compliments, at least on my part, on his glow (partly from the sun this week and mostly from his stressing and rushing in a bid not to be even later) we dug into the menu and was taken under the wing of a very knowledgeable waiter.

He led us to the rear of the restaurant where booths and large groups could enjoy their meal and in no time, we were tucking into starters of crisp calamari and giant short rib, tender and falling off the bone with a fragrant Asian inspired sticky glaze.

For the main event, we were given a real steak-ucation. I hardly know my ribeye from my sir loin, but after our waiter let us know exactly what his beef was, I looked forward to the rib eye, cooked medium rather than my usual rare, as recommended. This is due to the higher fat content and so more heat and longer cooking ensures the fat melts into the meat for a more flavoursome piece of meat. My beef cake of a date went for the daddy for all steaks, the Chateaubriand which melted in the mouth like hot butter. To accompany our meaty feast, we drank matched cocktails, the red wine steak holder and a delicious Ameretto sour.

Go for a meat feast, order the béarnaise sauce and dip their triple cooked chips in. Also go for their happy hour 4-7pm every day an love music

Don’t go if you’re veggie. It will turn you

Tweet-a-steak

2-3 West Smithfield

City of London
EC1A 9JX

Leave a Reply

