#LondonAdventure no 37 Notting Hill Carnival

ticket stub

It has been a really long time since I’ve updated my blog and that’s mostly because I’ve been so busy!

I wish I could say my time has been spent super-adventuring over this fair city, but alas, that is not the case.

There’s been a bit of a back log with my adventures, so I’ll start where I left off at the end of summer and tell all about Notting Hill Carnival which I can tell you seems like an age ago!

Ever since I moved to London, tales of the Notting Hill Carnival had led me to believe that this was going to be the event of the year.  I imagined Carnivale – Rio style- with bodacious women flaunting their booties in spangly sequin creations, bronzed gods on floats, the sound of steel drums and a riot of colour.

I was a bit disappointed to be honest.

I wanted to be blown away by it, to pretend I was having as good of a time as everyone else around me, but to be honest, I desperately needed the loo and the queue genuinely made me cry- I didn’t want to be 22 and to wet myself in front a million strangers also pretending to enjoy Notting Hill Carnival, the streets were waves of litter and broken glass and it felt a little like a kinda civilised, organised riot.

There was some sequins and booty but they dont sparkle as much when youre missing the sunshine- but hey, that’s not London’s fault

The beautiful houses in the area were all boarded up, the sky was threatening rain and apart from the great Jamaican food and good company the highlight of the day was watching a couple have a fight as they tried to work out how to get home.

London does so many things well, the skylines, the nightlife, the parks, the restaurant scene, but carnival? Not so much. Maybe leave it to Rio and let Notting Hill continue to be a charming little corner of London painted in pastel colours and inhabited by women dressed head to toe in Boden when they’re feeling cas’ on their way to lunch dates to meet guys in linen blazers.

10626851_10154412431405538_7993116533803860877_n
Mark 400
10590608_10154412431090538_1917877680952174379_n
Me and Emily pre-disappointment
10547641_10154412431840538_3185736892213241434_n
Matthieus

 Notable Reads:

Emma by Alexander McCall Smith out in Novemeber Order here

Northanger Abbey By Val Mcdermid. Buy here

Plenty More– Yotam Ottolenghi. Buy here

Leave a Reply

