#Onthebookshelf Breakfast at Tiffany’s & The Geography of You and Me.

Despite being surrounded by books and working in publishing, I truly don’t think I read enough books.  So, as well as all my numerous other resolutions I continually make (I really do want to be a better person), I’ve decided to try and read a book I really should have read by now alongside all the new shiny books too.

This week I read Breakfast at Tiffany’s which is probably cheating because it’s really short. Better get a move on though- my list of books I want to read, and list of books I should have read, are both really big and there’s only so long I can go trying to pretend that indeed I have read Moby Dick or other literary classics.

Breakfast at Tiffany’s – Truman Capote

download

This was a nice easy one to start with.  It’s shame worthy that I haven’t read this despite watching the movie several times and consuming all thing Hepburn and Breakfast at Tiffany’s themed.  What struck me reading about the flighty Holly Golightly is how everyone knows someone like her. She’s flaky, scatty, utterly beautiful, tells more lies than truths but there’s just something about her that is magnetic.  She floats through life leaving a trail of heartbreak, anger and pretty shiny things in her wake and you always know she’s going to be just fine, no matter what scrapes she manages to get herself into.

Some of the description by Capote is just delicious too.  It’s like the glamour of Tiffany’s silver itself trickling through the passages of even mundane things like her life on the farm. Capote injects those pages with the frissons of fun you would feel if you spent the day being friends with Holly and all too quickly, you turn the page and the books over and Holly is gone.

Verdict: short read I definitely should have read by now and one I will almost certainly return to.

The Geography of You and Me- Jennifer E Smith
18295852For my new and shiny read I opted for YA romance by Jennifer E Smith.  Though popular, I’d never picked up anything by her and fancying something fun and frivolous after the harrowing questions Koch’s The Dinner brought up about my ambitions to be middle class, this was the perfect antidote.

The story centres on the two misfits, Lucy and Owen, after they get stuck in a lift during a New York power cut.  After being rescued, they spend the night together seeing NYC in a different light and share a kiss.  Through circumstance and bad timing, Owen and Lucy are separated by states, continents and forms of communication.  Though they know though they will see each other again- one day.  Only keeping in touch via postcards, the occasional email and agonising on what isn’t written on the back of those pieces of cards rather than what is, this novel captures teenage angst pretty well.

Though not exactly providing the reader with a happy ending, it was an ok quick read, which is a shame considering it seemed like it had potential. Like the postcards Owen writes, it does leave the reader wanting a lot more than the scarce words written down.

Verdict: one time read that you’ll forget. Perfect for the beach

Follow Jennifer E smith @JenESmith on Twitter

Other reads this week:

Happy Endings -Margeret Attwood-  – Amazing very short read exploring plot, pessimism and the pointlessness of life- I mean John and Mary will die anyway!

 Orientations -Daniel Orozco — If you work in office, read this and try and match up the characters he describes to your real life.

Leave a Reply

