#InternInIndia First impressions.

On arriving in Bangalore, I was pleasantly surprised.  Far from the slums of Danny Boyle’s description,  this city is vibrant,  modern and bustling.

Office workers, auto rickshaws and police whistles fill the streets and people are clad in Western clothes and more traditional fare alike walking with purpose down Brigade Road. Brigade Road itself is a buzzing metropolis with western brands like Krispy Kreme and Mcdonalds  shoulder to shoulder with glittering sari shops and street vendors.

So far, my first impressions of the city have been all positive and more than a little surprising.

I’m not saying I wasn’t shocked though.  In the few days I’ve been here I’ve learnt that for some people the world is their toilet. Walking down the busy streets I hardly expected a man to get his you know what out and start peeing.  Ive taken to avoiding all puddles now…

In other news I’ve learnt that Indian men are world leaders in moustache growing and time isnt really of the essence here. Top tip: 5 minutes never means 5 minutes.  Be prepared to wait.

I also started my first day at work at The Indian Express.  Whilst in England I’d arrive sweaty, bleary eyed and a bit flustered for 9 am, here people amble in at 11. Today I start at 3! My first assignment involved going to a new store opening for The Organic World.  After looking at all the very stylishly packaged products – think Selfridges and a Holland and Barrats hybrid- Chef Rohan cooked us up some delicious morsels with the organic foods. And it’s my job to write about it!

Everyone speaks such good English and is so focused too. I was a little embarrassed after a few people at the store opening asked for my business card (everyone has one here, they’re the most fashionable accessory) but what would put on mine? Yasmin Jaunbocus, Unemployed? 

Anyway, since I don’t start till three I’m off sightseeing.

Namaste for now!

One thought on “#InternInIndia First impressions.

Leave a Reply

