Job Seeker’s Allowance

I’ve not even had my cap and gown ceremony yet, but where I’m going to work after I get back from my reporter internship at The Times Of India, is already weighing on my mind.

Whilst I’m guaranteed one job, I’m determined to find a job that I actually can not wait to do, instead of settling for something I rather wouldn’t.
As a wise friend once said, find a job you like, and you’ll never have to work a day of your life.
Whilst I know it’s probably unrealistic that my life will represent anything close to “The Devil Wears Prada” or that I will work for Bloomsbury and discover The next J. K Rowling, I don’t want to end up stuck in a mediocre job because I was unwilling to wait it out.
The only problems are: time and money.
Time: It takes an unfair amount of time to fill out an application. I know that if they saw me I could shine a whole lot brighter than my 2D, plain paper,  times new roman self.  Speaking my CV would take half the time and don’t even get me started on having to write countless covering letters (who even came up with the term covering letter? what are we trying to cover up exactly?)
Money: I have very little, I want some.
Now that I’ve graduated though, I’m dreading the onslaught of questions by snooty adults that envy my youth, relatively wrinkle free face and lack of mortgage: “So what next?”, “what can you do with an English Literature degree?”, “Did you not fancy a masters?”, and my all time favourite, “English!! Are you going to be a teacher then?
No, I am not.
Anyway, back to it, these applications are not going to write themselves.
Leave a Reply

