Puppy Love

Image from The Metro



I am not a dog person. At all. In the slightest. I would be happy if they didn’t exist (controversial, I know- especially in Britain). I don’t really understand the obsession and a horrific experience when I was younger has rendered me literally scarred for life (on my bottom no less).

BUT I came across a story that made my heart just melt- and most surprisingly, it involved a dog!

The story, which appeared in The Metro, detailed the heart breaking story of Tommy, the German shepherd who runs to mass every time he hears the bells ringing for service.

A religious dog? is that it? 

No, that’s not it.  The heart breaking fact is Tommy’s owner Ms Lochi used to bring him to mass with her but since she died, Tommy faithfully attends Mass to feel close to his owner even though she’s no longer there

‘He’s there every time I celebrate mass and is very well behaved – he doesn’t make a sound, I’ve not heard one bark from him in all the time he has been coming in,’ explained Father Donato Panna.
‘He used to come to mass with Maria and he was obviously devoted to her – I let him stay inside as he was always so well behaved and none of the other parishioners ever complained to me.’
The dog was adopted by Maria Lochi after she found him wandering the streets. Thankfully, the pious pup hasn’t been abandoned and the village in Southern Italy  has taken him as their own feeding and loving him.
So maybe dogs arent all that bad? Or perhaps Tommy is the exception that proves the rule!

Leave a Reply

